user profile
Sign in
user profile

Why Is Amazon Asking For VAT Number?

by Seller_rqFGqZ7xLsxHs

Amazon has sent me an email asking me to provide my VAT number, and that if I don’t they will block my account in 30 days. However, I have just opened my account this weekend, and registered for self assesment tax with HMRC. I have not made any money, or expect to go over the threshold for VAT in the UK. Why is Amazon only now asking for a VAT number? Also I have a pro seller’s account. I am a UK resident, and I received this message from Amazon.fr after selling an item to a buyer in France.

Thank you,

Tags: International expansion
24 replies
24 replies
Quick filters
Sort by
user profile
Seller_0Amk0hnQkPWMH
In reply to: Seller_rqFGqZ7xLsxHs’s post

All non-UK-resident sellers listing on Amazon UK must be VAT registered, regardless of whether they will be under or over the UK VAT threshold. There is a notification of this in the headlines section on seller central.

user profile
Seller_DROodOAYHftnc

Are you sure that the email was genuinely from Amazon ?
There a LOT of scam emails going round that look very convincing, and I too have had a similar ones about VAT.
Any genuine Amazon messages to you about your account will be flagged on your seller homepage, and NEVER click on any links in these emails.

user profile
Seller_hC0hNVDuILaKO

Will you be storing goods in the UK, i.e at FBA, or will you be dispatching orders from India?
If storing goods in the UK for sale then you MUST register for VAT before you list the goods for sale.

user profile
Seller_P6usK8irNTCt1

So, if your turnover exceeds the VAT threshold of £85,000 then you must register for VAT. However, you can also voluntarily choose to register your business.

re: When must a company be registered for VAT?
A company must register for VAT if the supplies made by the company are subject to VAT and either:

turnover has exceeded a prescribed figure, the VAT threshold, in the preceding 12 months; or