Valid Tracking Rate is a performance metric that measures how often you use valid tracking numbers on orders. This metric reflects Amazon customers’ expectations that they should be able to find out where their orders are and when they will receive them.
Providing valid tracking numbers with all your shipments has a number of benefits:
Failure to meet Amazon’s 95% target for this metric currently does not result in the suspension of your selling account. However, it could cause negative feedback or claims, which could affect your selling account status.
Carriers that Amazon currently supports tracking information are available to choose from the drop-down box on Confirm shipment page. You could navigate to Confirm shipment page by going to Order > Manage Orders > Confirm shipment:
A fully tracked service is one which is scanned throughout the carrier network. These scans are then shared via EDI/API connections with Amazon.
Tracking information must provide a tracked scan of each event throughout delivery.
Delivery methods which only provide delivery confirmation scans are not considered to be valid tracking.
A package that doesn’t include verified tracking information will have an ‘X’ in the ‘No valid tracking’ column of your Valid Tracking ID report. If you uploaded a tracking number but are seeing it marked as unconfirmed, it might be because:
Please check to make sure that you have entered the carrier and tracking number for your package correctly. You can change, re-enter and update the tracking information under Manage Your Orders until the order is delivered. Your metrics will reflect this change within 72 hours.
If you have a package marked with an ‘X’ in the ‘No valid tracking’ column, and you’ve verified that the tracking number for the Amazon-supported carrier is correct, try submitting the tracking number again. If this doesn’t solve your issue, contact Selling Partner Support for additional investigation.
If cancelled orders are showing up in your report, it’s because you confirmed shipment before you delivered the package to the carrier. An order is not considered a cancellation when you have confirmed shipment because the buyer’s credit card has been charged. To cancel this kind of order, you’re actually refunding the buyer. To prevent this sort of mix-up, we recommend that you only confirm shipment after the carrier has received the package.
When our system can’t process the tracking information that you entered for an order, ‘InvalidId’ will be displayed in column F for that order. For example, if your order ID was 001-12345-67890 and we weren’t able to process the tracking information that you entered for that order, column F will display 001-12345-67890-InvalidId.
This can happen if:
To correct any potential errors in the tracking information that you provided, continue to How do I edit a tracking number?.
You can edit order tracking information by going to Orders, and then Manage Orders. Enter the Order ID into the Advanced Search. Once you find the correct order, click Edit Shipment and provide the revised tracking number.
Allow 72 hours for the report and metric to reflect the changes.