user profile
Sign in
user profile

Accounting Basics

by Seller_tKLSFTtx6f51Y

Probably one of the most common questions for noob here. I’ve done some research but still need some clarification as there’s a lot of contradictory information out there, and varied use of terms.

I’ve just started as a non-pro FBM user, mainly just experimenting at the mo (not yet a formal business), so I’m not calculating things like staffing overheads / VAT just yet, (besides that on Amazon Fees). However I am trying to get a good grasp on basic individual item pricing, costs / revenue / profit calculations for selling a specific item, and still have some questions how to properly do all this:

1. Revenue
What’s classed as “Revenue”, is this what’s actually paid into my bank (after the removal of all shipping costs & fees), or is it simply List Price + Shipping Credit? (the amount the customer pays).

2. Actual Shipping Cost
How do you calculate this when you’ve bought the shipping labels through Amazon, do you deduct it separately from a subtotal (the total price - total fees) to then give the “Revenue” (the amount actually paid to your bank, that you then calculate profit from by subtracting “expenses”)?

OR do you add the amount to the total expenses instead? (Including the item cost, packaging costs, etc). Basically do you deduct the shipping to give the actual “Revenue”, or deduct it from the revenue to give the profit.

Bit stuck with when to calculate this one cause it gets more complicated if you buy it through Amazon, where the amount is taken off BEFORE the money gets to your bank, so I’m unsure whether to treat it like a normal cost / expense. Is it the same regardless whether you buy it through Amazon or not?

3. Profit Margin / Markup
I know the formulas: “(Price - Cost) / Cost” for Markup, and “(Price - Costs) / Price” for Margin, but I’m unsure what’s actually included in “Price” and “Cost”.